Well, I have a story we can all learn from. It's a real eye-opener and something we probably wouldn't talk to our children about.
My fifteen year old cousin - that's right, my uncle is only twelve years older than me - was walking in broad daylight Saturday afternoon. He was by himself going from point A to point B and he stopped to make a phone call in front of a church. As he was standing there, a van pulled up, several men jumped out, said they were the police and told him he had to get in the van. They were not in uniform and did not show their identification. He said "no" and started backing away, they persisted, and he took off running. When they caught him, they threw him to the ground - he started swinging, they held a gun to his head and handcuffed him. He started screaming "help me".
Finally a uniformed policeman approached, after he was on the ground, handcuffed with a gun to his head. What the hell is going on?! One of the several undercover detectives realized this poor kid thinks he's being kidnapped. "Hello - why wouldn't he think that, you haven't shown him any ID?"
My aunt and uncle got a phone call that their fifteen year old son is at the precinct and being held for assaulting a police officer. Imagine that phone call.
Fastforward - the police apologized for the way they handled the situation. There had been some recent vandalism in the area and they thought he looked suspicious. Realizing that they did not properly identify themselves, they let him go.
What would you do? I would do something. He was traumatized. Will he get over having a gun held to his head?- HE'S FIFTEEN, MAKING A PHONE CALL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY IN A VERY NICE AREA! What if that gun went off when he started swinging, thinking he was fighting for his life? It could happen to anyone.
We told our children, who do walk around town sometimes, - stay with someone and you do not have to go with anyone that says they're the police and haven't shown you ID.
Thankful and horrified,
NeuroticMom
Showing posts with label safety. Show all posts
Showing posts with label safety. Show all posts
Tuesday, April 20, 2010
Sunday, March 21, 2010
Houston - We Have a Problem!!!!!
Scary incident yesterday. I was home with my youngest and it was a beautiful, warm day. The garage was open because I just got in from running errands. I am in the middle of changing clothes over for the kids and he's doing some homework before he can go out and play. I'm upstairs and he's downstairs. The doorbell rang and thank goodness I had just looked out the window. It was a man going around the neighborhood for something. I never open the door to anyone unless they are expected or my husband is home (he wasn't). My children always run for the door because it's their friends 99% of the time. We live in a small development (22 houses and secluded). You don't worry about the kids running around the development. Neighborhood friends come in and out in all of our houses.
Anyway, as soon as the bell rang I ran for the stairs and yelled for him not to open the door - it was someone we don't know. He didn't and ran up the stairs, a little scared since I had adamently told him not to open the door. "Why, what's going on?" "It's a stranger, and we don't open the door to strangers." He watched the man from the upstairs window and started in on me. "He looks nice, just open the door if he comes back." "No, he's a stranger." "What's the big deal?" Are you kidding me??????????
Anyway, as soon as the bell rang I ran for the stairs and yelled for him not to open the door - it was someone we don't know. He didn't and ran up the stairs, a little scared since I had adamently told him not to open the door. "Why, what's going on?" "It's a stranger, and we don't open the door to strangers." He watched the man from the upstairs window and started in on me. "He looks nice, just open the door if he comes back." "No, he's a stranger." "What's the big deal?" Are you kidding me??????????I spent the next few minutes explaining that dangerous people usually look nice and that's how they gain your trust. After having a lengthy conversation he still said we should answer the door. We've gone over this stuff so many times, I am flabergasted that he's still questioning it. He agreed that if he was home alone or with his brothers, they wouldn't open the door, but he doesn't quite comprehend why I wouldn't open it on a beautiful day since I'm the parent. I'll keep trying to explain it without making him paranoid. Boy did I learn a lesson.
NeuroticMom
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)